What Are VASAP’s Reckless and Aggressive Driver Classes?

Virginia has strict reckless driving laws. for example, driving over 80 mph is considered reckless driving in Virginia, which is a criminal offense equivalent to a Class 1 misdemeanor. And if your means exceeds 90 mph you may be sentenced to time in jail. Other penalties for reckless driving in Virginia include fines, license suspensions, criminal convictions, and VASAP’s reckless driving classes.

What is VASAP?

VASAP stands for the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program. The program was designed by the State Department of Transportation Safety to help reduce alcohol and drug-related car accidents. VASAP does this by:

• Providing alcohol and drug detection training to law enforcement officials;

• Cooperating with the courts to monitor offenders’ probation requirements;

• Providing education and treatment sets to criminal traffic offenders; and

• Informing the public about the dangers and costs of driving under the influence.

VASAP operates independently of Virginia state tax dollars. Instead, it charges each probationer a minimum participation fee.

Other programs provided by VASAP include driver improvement, relapse education, and a reckless/aggressive driving program.

VASAP’s Reckless/Aggressive Driver Classes

Despite its focus on alcohol and drug related traffic charges, VASAP has a program for reckless and aggressive drivers in addition. Those who participate in this program generally have been charged with:

• Reckless driving;

• Passing on the right;

• Driving too closely to another means; and/or

• Violations due to aggressive road rage behaviors.

This class educates people on how to manager stress while driving, and manage anger that may arise during driving situations. Its emphasis is on how to prevent reckless driving, control unnecessary aggression, and avoid participating in criminal activity that can consequence from “road rage”.

Is VASAP’s program mandatory?

If you are convicted of reckless driving in Virginia, and a estimate orders you to VASAP, then yes, you must attend the VASAP reckless/aggressive driving program. But you may be able to avoid the program by beating your criminal charge.

If you have been recently charged with reckless driving in Virginia, you can fight your charge with the expert help of a Virginia reckless driving attorney.

If you have been arrested for DUI in Virginia, there is no time to waste! If you want to try to get your license back, you have less than 5 days to hire a lawyer. Your trial date is almost always less than 2 months from the date you were charged and, consequently, waiting just 14 days to hire a lawyer could severely handicap your DUI defense.

Leave a Reply