A DWI Attorney Is Your Best Defense for Amended DWI Laws

A DWI Attorney Is Your Best Defense for Amended DWI Laws




First of all, if an officer suspects that you have consumed alcohol you may be asked to take a breathalyzer, blood or urine test that closest measures your blood alcohol content, otherwise known as your BAC. In Texas, prior to the new changes in our state legislature, all drivers 21 years of age and over could be charged with a BAC over .08%. The recent changes to the laws now separate high and low level BAC results. If your levels come back over .15% this can presently be considered an aggravated DWI and can have much more stern penalties than a BAC that is under the .15%.

Prior to the Texas law amendments, a first time DWI offense could be classified as a Class B misdemeanor and a second time offense a Class A. Now if your BAC results show that you are .15% or more for a first time offense you can be charged much like a repeat offender would have been punished in the past and sentenced to a Class A misdemeanor that can land you in jail for up to a year and cost up to $4,000 in court fines.

Along with the alteration in BAC levels, there have also been changes to other aspects of DWI laws. A section of the Penal Code in Texas now says that if an individual causes personal injury to another person in the event that they are intoxicated while driving that individual could be facing a 3rd degree intoxication assault felony. This could send them to prison for 2 to 10 years and/or cost up to $10,000 in fines. If the personal injury involves brain trauma then the offense increases to a 2nd degree felony intoxication assault, which could run two to 20 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.

The DWI and DUI laws have changed in other states, in addition. North Carolina has adopted “Laura’s Law” which makes it mandatory for a minor to serve 30 days in jail for a DWI charge. Connecticut has made an ignition interlock device, which is basically a breathalyzer installed in your car that you have to blow into to function the means, a requirement for first time DUI offenders. California has revised their DWI laws giving the estimate the authority to suspend a 3rd time DUI offender’s license for up to 10 years.

Make sure that you are aware of your states laws regarding DWI’s and DUI’s, because they all vary in degree and severity of their consequences. It may be the difference in whether you have a drink, or pass and excursion home worry free.

If you are charged with this offense contact a lawyer with extensive DWI, or DUI, experience as soon as possible. An expert criminal defense attorney can offer assistance and will know the complexities of DWI laws in your particular state of residence. A skilled legal specialized will be eager to discuss you your case and help you figure out the best guidance for which route to take on your behalf. When fighting a DWI, knowledgeable legal defense is your best defense.




leave your comment

Search

Top